(Get the Programme in pdf)

Wednesday 25 June 2014

11:00-13:00 Panel session 1

13:00-14:15 Lunch

14:15-16:15 Panel session 2

14:15-16:15 Database presentations I

Organising Regulatory Governance: Databases on Regulatory (and other) Organizations

16:15-16:45 Coffee break

16:45-18:45 Panel session 3

17:30-18:45 Author meets critics: Frank Vibert

The New Regulatory Space. Reframing Democratic Governance (Edward Elgar)

Discussants: Yannis Papadopulos (Lausanne, CH), Jacint Jordana (UPF-IBEI, Barcelona) and Ulrika Mörth (Stockholm University).

18:45-20:00 Welcome Reception

Thursday 26 June 2014

09:00-10:45 Panel session 4

10:45-11:15 Coffee break

11:15-13:00 Panel Session 5

12:00-13:15 Author meets critics: Yannis Papadopulos

Democracy in crisis? Politics, Governance and Policy (Macmillan)

Discussants: Frans van Waarden (Utrecht University, Netherlands), Claudio Radaelli (Exeter, UK), Frank Vibert (London School of Economics, UK)

13:00-14:15 Lunch

14:15-16:15 Panel Session 6

14:15-16:15 Database presentations II

Regulatory Policy and Administrative Authority: What’s in the Data Goldmine?

16:15-16:45 Coffee break

16:45-18:00 Round Table I

European and Global Regulatory Governance: What can we learn from an organizational perspective?

Chair: Koen Verhoest, University of Antwerp


  • Christophe Knill, Ludwig-Maximilians University München
  • Morten Egeberg, ARENA, University of Oslo
  • Jarle Trondal, ARENA, University of Oslo
  • Manuel Szapiro, College of Europe

18:15-19:15 Regulatory Governance Standing Group. Business Meeting

20:30 Conference Dinner

Venue: La Dama del Paraigua restaurant

Granting of the Giandomenico Majone Prize to the best paper presented by scholars having completed their PhD no more than seven years before the deadline for submission.

Granting of the First Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development. This new award recognizes a significant public contribution to the field among senior scholars.

Friday 27 June 2014

09:00-10:45 Panel session 7

10:45-11:15 Coffee break

11:15-12:30 Round Table II

A new climate governance? Regulatory innovation towards low carbon

Chair: Andreas Goldthau, Central European University and Harvard Kennedy School of Government


  • Bjoern Conrad, Mercator Institute for China Studies (MERICS)
  • Miranda Schreurs, Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU), Freie Universität Berlin
  • Fariborz Zelli, Lund University

11:15-12:30 Author meets critics: Tony Prosser

The Economic Constitution (Oxford University Press)

Discussants: David Levi-Faur (HUJI, Israel), Colin Scott (UCD, Ireland), Pablo Larrañaga (ITAM, Mexico)

12:30-13:30 Closing Conference: Joaquín Almunia on “Challenges to Competition Policy in Europe”

Vice-President of the European Commission and Commissioner responsible for competition

Chair: Anne Meuwese (Tilburg University)

13:30-14:30 Lunch

14:30-16:30 Panel session 8

16:30-17:00 Coffee break

17:00-19:00 Panel session 9